Too many firewalls?

Hi, i'm completely new to home networking and would like some help, please. i'm helping someone to setup home office- with 3- 4pcs, 1 'server'. all pcs & server have xp sp2, norton internet security (build in firewall), and connect to dsl line using 1 router/ gateway (build in firewall). however, they also already bought a cisco pix 501 firewall a while ago (they used vpn before). i'm just wondering should i set that firewall too? if i do that, would it be a bit too much? the router only have 4 ports. at the moment, i only use 1 socket to connect to the router. can use their existing dsl 300+ on another socket (they have 4 sockets), but will it stop the pcs from seeing each other on the network? if i can't use this socket (if it stops it from seeing each other), why the supplier install 4 sockets? i guess it probably means they can use

4 routers? when i try to map a drive to the 'server' (not a proper server, just microsoft windows, to act as a server), it won't show the other pcs on the 'network' although they are all on the same workgroup. i can only map it using ip address. any idea? i thought it could be the firewall (router) and changed the firewall settings to allow all applications, but still can't see it. any idea? thanks
Reply to
???
Loading thread data ...

"???" wrote in news:1131843987.205233.310990 @f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com:

You should get rid of everything else and just use the PIX that is a FW appliance if possible. However, I don't know if the PIX will work on a DSL connection it should.

You can convert a router into a switch or go buy a standalone switch and plug it into the PIX as the gateway and machines connected to the PIX and the ones connected to the switch will be able to do resource sharing on the LAN.

I don't know what you're talking about.

Set the network up correctly.