SOHO security package

I am researching a new desktop security suite for a small office. They have a netgear DG834 adsl router, and two PC's. Currently Norton IS

2005 is installed, but i want to take that out.

Am looking at both the ZoneAlarm Security Suite and Trend Micro PC-Cillin. Its needs to have a decent firewall amd spam/spyware blocker? Whats the best option or should i go for Zonealarm Pro and a sep antivirus?

Is it a good idea to store cc numbers on of the above internet connected pc's? They will be encrypted, but will also have the decryption file sitting on the PC as well.

Should i consider anything else?

I have also been told that i should consider setting up a proxy server? I dont know too much about these (i'm a junior programmer), only that it sits on seperate machine, between the router and the pc's, and handles all the security in one place? Is this overkill for an office with just two pc's?

Help would be much appreciated?

Thanks

Vince

Reply to
Winshent
Loading thread data ...

In article , Winshent wrote: :I am researching a new desktop security suite for a small office.

:Is it a good idea to store cc numbers on of the above internet :connected pc's?

No, never.

:They will be encrypted, but will also have the :decryption file sitting on the PC as well.

Trojans are quite capable of sending back the current screen contents.

Reply to
Walter Roberson

Guys, thanks for the feedback.

Andrew, you mention the firewall from Watchguard.. have been looking at the Firebox SOHO 6. Is the Netgear DG834 router/adsl modem not adequate? Whats the significant advantage of upgrading?

We dont need VPN as the office is outside the house. And only have two PC's.

I agree that Zonealarm is the way to go. Are there any alternatives to AVG?