REPOST: Authentication, Authorization TO Firewall

Hi, I am new to firewalls. Are firewalls usually compliant with AAA servers (say RADIUS), if not, is there other way for the firewalls to get authorization information regarding letting an user traffic out/in (e.g., how much time, etc). I am curious on how the web-based login system in hotspots works. The user logs in to the web proxy. If the user is authentic, the firewall should open up for this user (IP address). Is the web proxy part of the firewall itself here, if so, can someone tell me a few such product names. If the web proxy is a different element, the firewall should recieve some authorization information on how much time the user traffic (from that IP address or virtual port) should be allowed, wat is the standard protocol used for this.

greenhorn

Reply to
Greenhorn
Loading thread data ...

Hi, Thanks for the reply. I would like to put the query in a better form.

Do firewalls provide dynamically defined access control i.e., can they act as access controllers. e.g., it should be able to do the following, a user tries to access a resource, the packets would come to the firewall, if they are HTTP packets and the user is new (from IP address not being in the authenticated list), the packets would be redirected to a webproxy, the webproxy tries to get the user authenticated by a AAA server (say RADIUS), the firewall would get an authorization message from the AAA server (or webproxy), saying the time the user must be allowed access, the resources he can access etc. The firewall would provide that access.

Can this be done by the firewalls in the market such as Checkpoint firewall-1

greenhorn.

P.S. Walter, thanks for all your replies.

Reply to
Greenhorn