Netscreen 5GT in Extended Mode

You'll have to change the port mode mode top Extended. This will wipe out the config that is currently on it. But once that is done, you can do anything you want. However, you cannot specify what interfaces are in what zone, on the 5GT it is a preconfigured setup that can't be modified beyond the port mode.

Your diagram is a bit fubar, but is technically possible. You can put it in route mode, but the way you have it with an ADSL router might be painful. Is there a reason for having the Untrust zone using a

10.0.0.2 address?
Reply to
Munpe Q
Loading thread data ...

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to netscreen. I have a NETSCREEN 5GT AV/DI and I have it in Extended mode.

I have a an ADSL modem/router providing me with a fixed ip from my ISP I also have 8 IP's also allocated from my ISP which I am using at the moment.

What I would like to do is connect the 5GT to the adsl router/modem and have a DMZ that has my public IP Addresses.

A diagram of what I am trying to achieve is below. Is this possible?

internet | 62.x.x.x Static IP (ADSL ROUTER) 10.0.0.1 | | 10.0.0.2 (Untrusted eth3) (-------Netscreen----) | | DMZ Eth2 84.12.x..1 (public ip) 192.168.x.x (trusted eth1) | | dmz hosts internal network nat router 192.168.x.x

thanks in advance Rob

Reply to
rob

Perhaps you can try this.

Firstly backup the current config in case you need to go back to it.

Then, in the GUI, go to port mode and change it to extended port mode - the gui will show, depending on the ScreenOS version, the new ports as colour coded and the trusted 4 port switch will be split to a trusted and dmz. Also your current config will be reset so you'll have to readd it.

With the DMZ ports in their native route mode, you'll need to add a static route on the ADSL router such that 84.12.x.0/29 next hop is