Firebox II Basic Setup

I need help; I can't get any machine to get out the internet through my Firebox II

I got the Firebox II for a donation of $15; I am new to it and have set up several PIX 501 and 506 on my T1 without a problem, I reset the firebox II to factory defaults using the crossover cable.

Here is how I set it up Under Setup > Network Configuration > Interface Tab I setup the machine with the External Interface of my T1's external IP Default Gateway of my T1s router (Just as I do on my 501)

Under Setup > Network Configuration > WINS/DNS I put in the T1's DNS server just as in the Pix 501 One thing I noticed is reading the help it says for the DNS servers "These servers must be accessible from the Firebox Trusted interface"

Of curse my DNS servers are external

On Outgoing I have Allowed Internal Host Any and External Any

Still I can not get any external IP my name or IP...somehow I think I need to set up a route or I am having a DNS problem

Ed,

Reply to
gencode
Loading thread data ...

First, you have to do a couple things:

Are you using the DHCP service on the Firebox?

Are you using 192.168.x.y/24 for your internal network?

Did you select Routed or Drop-in mode?

If you can access the System Manager, selec the POLICY MANAGER:

Select Network, Setup in menu

External Interface: Static, assign a public IP - make sure that you enter the proper subnet (/24, /28, etc...), then enter the Default Gateway Public IP address.

Trusted Interface: Enter the IP of the LAN segment (such as

192.168.10.1/24) the .1 is the LAN IP of the firebox.

Optional Interface: Leave blank for now.

Select WINS/DNS tab: Enter your PUBLIC DNS Server IP addresses.

Select OK

Select the SKULL Icon, Blocked Sites, make sure that your LAN subnet is not listed or part of the blocked Sites ranges.

Select Setup, NAT Setup, make sure that you have the following:

Trusted-External (others are OK, just make sure that you have at least T~E)

Add a DNS rule:

Incoming: Disabled