why is Token ring expensive than ethernet

Hi,

I am new to networks. I have read that Token rings are more expensive than ethernet. They seems to be using same amount of cabling, don't they ?, is it expensive to build the NICs for Token ring ?, is it management cost that is higher in the case of Token ring ? Can anyone explain me why ? Can you also tell by what % are Token rings expensive than ethernet in a typical network with 100 nodes.

-shar

Reply to
sharkie
Loading thread data ...

When TR was a 4Mb/sec ring and Ethernet was a 10Mb/sec shared bus there were all sorts of studies that claimed that "colisions" would make Ethernet unpredictable above some threshold. In a corporate environment reliability and maintainability have a high priority, as it should be. When used in an all-IBM environmant there were system management and diagnstics tools that Ethernet and IP didn't get until managed hubs came into use.

When Ethernet was a stiff orange coax cable as thick as your pinky TR cable didn't look that bad.

Only a few companies made TR cards and becasue of interoperability problems with PC brands a company tended to buy one brand of card and stick with it. There wasn't lots of competition and stuff was priced for huge businesses, who look for stability and vendor support.

Reply to
Al Dykes

Just a matter of sales volume. No point sticking with Token Ring though, is there?

In the early days of LANs, there were many different flavors, each with its zealous and vociferous proponents. I suppose that was also true in the early days of the automobile, with steam, electric, and gasoline powered cars vying for public acceptance. After that initial period, winners emerge and the others become historical oddities.

Happened with wired LANs too.

Bert

Reply to
Albert Manfredi