No. of Full Duplex Links ?

Hi..

(I am a newbie at this)

How many full duplex links in fully connected 6 node mesh ?

Options are :

15, 30,36,6

I believe it's 15...am i right ?...please help...i am totally a novice i networking..

thanks jon

Reply to
Anupam
Loading thread data ...

That must be why you're taking a class, and an obvious test.

Most reputable schools expect their students to do their own research and homework. It would be better for you in the long run if you were to do so. I would suggest hitting up your local public or school library.

Reply to
Dr. Anton T. Squeegee

I agree. Every node connects to 5 other nodes. That makes a total of 30 ports connected. Each port is one end of a duplex link. Hence, 15 duplex links.

Bert

Reply to
Albert Manfredi

x=n*(n-1)/2

n=No. of nodes x=No. of links

=> x=6*(6-1)/2=15

Anupam schrieb:

Reply to
Helmut Ulrich

In article , Helmut Ulrich wrote: :x=n*(n-1)/2

:n=No. of nodes :x=No. of links

Correct, that's the formula.

The other numeric response got the right answer but for the wrong reason ;-) The divide by 2 isn't "because the links are full duplex".

The correct formula, the one Helmut gave, is the closed-form solution for the summation of the series 1 + 2 + 3 + ... + N-1 .