CSMA\CD Question

First off, I'm not a network person, I'm just taking a course, but my background is wireless communications, so I'm more famliar with Aloha than Ethernet.

At any rate, I'm having a debate with someone over the behaviour of the contention algorithm and I'm wondering if anyone has a way to break the tie (with some balck and white proof).

Question:

Take a 4 users network (A,B,C and D). A and B send and collide, they then sit back and wait for their timers to go off to try again. C and D then send and collide, they too set their timers and wait to try again.

Point of Contention:

Do both A and B detect the collision of C and D, and if so, are they then forced to reset their timers?

My view point is No, and here are my reasoning. Technically I think they could detect the collision of C and D, but if this is the case, then why do transmitters need the loopback of the Tx signal to the Rx to compare what's Rx's if anyone (i.e. A or B) can detect the collision?

Any literature I've found so far only deals with the transmitter and receiver, none specifically detail the requirements of the passive terminal. Another reason why I don't think this is the case as I would expect it explicitly written that ALL terminals must reset their timers.

Thanks, Darren

Reply to
D.K.
Loading thread data ...

(snip)

Repeaters need to detect receive mode collisions (even when they aren't transmitting), but ordinary end stations don't.

-- glen

Reply to
glen herrmannsfeldt

The IEEE-standard algorithm specifies that stations only adjust their retransmission timers based on collisions to which they are a party. Thus, while both A and B may be able to detect the fact that there was a collision (not involving themselves), they will not use this information to adjust their retransmission timers.