Can you connect two gigabit fibre NICs together?

Hi everyone,

I've recently gotten hold of a couple of gigabit network cards, and as they're both fibre cards and I have no experience with fibre, I could use some advice!

The cards are both Intel PRO/1000 (82542 chipset) and I'd like to use the cards to connect two servers directly together. They'll be less than a metre apart, and the cable I'm using is about two metres long, with "SC" connectors on both ends (which according to intel.com is what the cards use.)

I figured connecting the TX port on each card to the RX port on the other would be enough to get a link, but the OS reports no link detected and the link LED on the cards doesn't light up.

Carefully checking the cards reveals a faint point of red laser light shining out of one of the ports (I assume the TX port, as they're unmarked) so the cards seem to be okay. Shining a light into one end of the fibre shows bright light coming out the other end, so the fibre cable seems fine. Despite this I still can't get a link.

A suggestion on this newsgroup in the past was to connect the TX port of one card back to its own RX port, as that should cause a link to be established - but unfortunately this doesn't make a difference.

Drivers should be fine (widely used "e1000" module under Linux 2.6.16) so I'm running out of ideas. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be, or anything I could try to narrow down the problem?

Thanks, Adam.

Reply to
Adam Nielsen
Loading thread data ...

Just a quick guess or two: do the cards run single-mode optics while the fiber is multi-mode, or vice versa ? Also, might you need an attenuator inline in case you are overloading the receiver with such a strong signal into it ?

Reply to
Justa Lurker

Does anyone recommend a "Fibre for Dummies" Book?

Reply to
Al Dykes

Can someone recommend a "Fibre for Dummies" book? It's not that big a topic at the overview level, really. Make that web site or magazine article.

Reply to