traffic shapping problem

Hello It is being a few weeks since I started playing with our companies cisco routers. we have a t1 router, then a pix, and then an internal router. the pix is doing the tunnels for remote locations. I put some traffic shaping rules on the internal router and they seem to be working fine. I added a www traffic shaping rules to the t1 router and I get very little hits to the www accesslist. I believe the traffic comes in the tunels and vpn of the pix and then it comes out again. from the pix thourgh the t1 router to the internet as www traffic. but the access list hits are very little. and no traffic shaping happens. any ideas on how to limit the www traffic?

Reply to
jcharth
Loading thread data ...

In article , wrote: :Hello It is being a few weeks since I started playing with our :companies cisco routers. we have a t1 router, then a pix, and then an :internal router. the pix is doing the tunnels for remote locations. I :put some traffic shaping rules on the internal router and they seem to :be working fine. I added a www traffic shaping rules to the t1 router :and I get very little hits to the www accesslist. I believe the traffic :comes in the tunels and vpn of the pix and then it comes out again. :from the pix thourgh the t1 router to the internet as www traffic.

That is possible, but not common.

The PIX through 6.x software (but not the just-just released 7.0 software) has a limitation that disallows traffic going back out the same [logical] interface it came in on. Thus if the remote sites are requesting www traffic and those requests are travelling via VPN over the T1 to the PIX and being decapsulated there on the outside interface, then the PIX would refuse to forward those decapsulated packets to the outside interface towards the external WWW sites -- on the grounds that it was the same interface in both cases.