Problems with DSL and DNS

Hi everybody,

Recently I spent several hours with Cisco engineers helping me to setup my DSL connection. I have 871 router and Speedstream 5100 DSL modem.

Initially we tried to set it up the "regular way" so the modem handles PPPoE and all that stuff. Just like my old NetGear router which always worked. No matter what, we could not get it to work. The router was not able to obtain address from my ISP through DHCP. At the same time plugged directly to my PC always worked. I also always worked with my old router. But not with Cisco - surprise.

Finally I called my ISP (Ameritech, previously SBC Chicago) and they told me that there was a known problem with Cisco routers and I had a better chance switching it to the bridge mode. So we did. After another 4 hours, another Cisco engineer managed to set it up, removed all other settings, firewall, left the console accessible from the Internet and closed the case. I am a Cisco newbie and all I want is the functionality I had with my old simple router I could set up in 15 min. I managed to reinstall the firewall with the SDM.

However, my DSL connection still does not work quite well. Whenever it goes down the router looses DNS settings and I usually have to restart it.

Is there any way to fix it? Here are my settings. Is there anything wrong with them? Am I missing something?

Please advise.

Tomasz