Cisco 1751 T1 question

We have multiple sites in our WAN. We recently installed a new T1 line at a new site. I am new to Cisco and the company won't fork over the money to send me to school, so I have read and learned quite a bit, but I'm having a problem. At the main site (A) with have a Cisco 2600 that has a T1 card and works fine. At the new site (B) we installed a Cisco

1751-V (left over router we had from an old location) I installed a WIC-1DSU-T1-V2 in it. I believe the config is fine. I have sent it to a couple of guys from the phone company and they say it seems ok. The problem is on site A it says the link and protocol are down. On site B it says the line is up and the protocol is down. The question I have is about the cable coming from the WIC-1DSU-T1-V2 to the demarc. I had a RJ45 Cat 5 cable, but somebody told me that I need a RJ48 cable. I looked it up and there are different kinds of RJ48 cables. Can anyone give me any information to help me.

Thanks in advance, Klaki

Reply to
shinjagunjin
Loading thread data ...

Just to give some more information. All the other sites connected to site A are up and running. We are using 256k of the T1 for our new site.

Reply to
shinjagunjin

RJ-48 (Registered Jack-48) A telephone connector that holds up to eight wires.

It uses the same plug and socket as RJ-45 but has different pinouts.

An RJ48 cable uses shilded twisted pair (STP).

RJ-48C is commonly used for T1 lines and uses pins 1, 2, 4 and 5.

Pin Pair Signal

1 R RX Ring 2 T RX Tip 3 reserved 4 R1 TX Ring 5 T1 TX Tip 6 reserved 7 shield 8 shield
Reply to
Merv

So is this the type of cable I should be using?

Reply to
shinjagunjin

What are you using on the working T1 circuits - HQ or remote ?

Reply to
Merv

Not exactly sure. Sorry, like I said I don't hae much training. I'm hoping through this experience it will give them enough reason to send me off to school. Is there an easy way to tell?

Thanks again Merv

Reply to
shinjagunjin