CDP-4-NATIVE_VLAN_MISMATCH

Hi, our network chap has come in and configured our switches and has since left. When logged into the switches to dump the config from the two 3560 switches in the server room I was getting the following error on the console for both switches.

CDP-4-NATIVE_VLAN_MISMATCH: Native VLAN mismatch discovered on GigabitEthernet0/47 (1), with switch-mdf GigabitEthernet!

Now, Port 47 on the client switch is running: switchport trunk encapsulation isl

Whereas port 47 on the core switch (hostname is switch-mdf) is running: switchport access vlan 3 switchport mode access

There is an uplink cable between the two ports 47 to link both switches. Now I'm no cisco expert but should we disable the trunking on the client switch and set all ports to default blank, ie in the config set the port

interface GigabitEthernet0/47 !

My understanding is this would make a standard non-trunked port, and as we are plugging the switch into the core switches port 47, all ports on the client switch would then be part of vlan 3 (which is what i would like).

Could someone please kindly confirm if my thinking is correct, and commands to fix the above would be appreciated if anyone has the time. Im trying to get hold of the network guy in the meantime but to no avail. Although there is this mismatch the switch seems to have detected it and ignored it.

Thanks in advance,

Chris

Reply to
g18c
Loading thread data ...

So you've got an ISL trunk on 0/47 on switch A

And 0/47 on switch B (or whatever is on the recieving end of the above mentioned interface) is configured as an access port that calls VLAN 3 home.

Is that correct so far? If so, what you have is not a trunk just yet.