Can PIX 501 be VPN terminator inside another firewall?

I'm new to the PIX, but I've done some basic modifications to Cisco routers in the past, and even taken a router configuration class with IOS 11.2. I can see this is enough different that I need help.

PIX Version 6.3(5)

I would like to install a PIX 501 behind an existing firewall and have it only act as a VPN server. The existing firewall has 2 interfaces, one using cable and the other DSL. Both internet addresses are static. In case it matters, the firewall is a Nexland ISB 800 Pro. The LAN is currently 192.168.1.x/24. The firewall is using

192.168.1.250 as its inside address. I've been told all IP addresses on the LAN have been statically assigned and are at .100 and above. The idea is to install the 501 purely to act as a VPN server to the Cisco VPN Client. (I believe 1 proposed user has 4.6 installed and I have 4.8 installed.) All proposed use is via the software client. Currently there are only 3 proposed users and 2 of us are only for support purposes. I would like VPN users to have full access to all systems on the LAN once the tunnel is established.

Is what I propose possible? If so, can I make it work without all the LAN IP addresses being changed? Does someone have such a configuration I could use as a template?

Help! This is supposed to be installed on the 24th and I'm afraid I won't have this ready.

Reply to
VMS Guy
Loading thread data ...

do you have a choice with respect to equipment - ie do you have a Cisco router which could be used as a VPN server ?

Reply to
Merv

Reply to
VMS Guy

Are you expecting the IPsec packets coming from the VPN clients to go into and come out of the same PIX interface to the existing LAN that is behind the firewall (i.e. a VPN server on-a-stick) ?

If so I do not think that is possible with 6.x software. It is possible with PIX 7.x software but for that you need a PIX 515 or above (different price range.