C3750 Layer 3 Switching and VLANs

Hi There,

I have the task of installing a new C3750 switch into an existing ip network. The existing network is just running a basic layer2 switching setup with daisy chained switches. They have a HP core switch that will do vlan tagging but will not actually separate networks into VLANs if that makes sense. I am tasked with installing a new L3 C3750 and providing 3 separate VLANs (all with the same IP network (but different masks) - otherwise it means readdressing everything!) and I need to filter traffic out between the VLANs. Has anyone got any example configs on how I can configure these VLANs and the router inside the Switch? Any ACL filtering examples would be greatly appreciated! I am new to VLANS and especially L3 Switches :-/

Thanks

Ryan

Reply to
ryanfinnerty
Loading thread data ...

Hi Ryan,

Can you provide any current sceerion diagram to make the scenerio clear,

Untill now i only understood that you wantto install 3750 Switch as VLAN Tagging Server with restricted access.

Thanks, NETADMIN

Reply to
NETADMIN

Hi,

Thanks for the super fast reply. I think I should take the HP and the VLAN tagging out of the loop first - so ignore the HP. I need to install a new C3750 L3 Switch.

I need to create 3 VLANs, 1x Terminal Servers (VLAN2) , 1x Clients/Workstations (VLAN3), 1x Management (VLAN4). I need to ensure that the Clients can only access the Terminal Servers on TCP3389 and I need to filter out ALL other traffic for getting to the servers. The C3750 will be L3. Can you provide a config example for this.

Also, I will need to enable portfast on the Server ports.

Sorry I am missing out the diagram as it's just a L3 Switch with 3 x VLANS and FIltering - my first post is confusing - so I've simplifed it a little.

Reply to
ryanfinnerty

... ! interface vlan3 ip address ... ip access-group from_clients in ! ip access-list extended from_clients permit tcp any any eq 3389 deny ip any any log !

Reply to
Lutz Donnerhacke