Broadband problem

I live in Massachusetts and I get my broadband cable through Comcast . It seems that my cable falls off only during part of the day ( early to mid morning ) and is fine at other times . Comcast support says that it seems like like a modem problem . Are modems tempermental ? Any help appreciated . BV

Reply to
BV
Loading thread data ...

I've been with Comcast (S. Calif) for about 3 years using the USR "shark fin", and I've been using the Motorola 5120 for about 10 months with not a single problem from either of them. What kind of modem do you have and does it have clearance on all sides for convective cooling? Tell us the modem, and someone here might be able to tell you how to read its web page. In all likelyhood, though, the problem is not the modem.

*TimDaniels*
Reply to
Timothy Daniels

Tim ,

The Modem I have is a SurfBoard Sb3100 . I keep in an open space behind my TV . It has air to breathe . bV

Reply to
BV

What did support say beyond "seems like"? Did they check anything or was it just "the modem is the problem" without checking, or with little explanation?

Is this a house, condo, apartment?

I can't speak to Comcast, but you will find an answer. It's taking me awhile to accept a dumb/passive device could go bad.

-- Oren

"Well, it doesn't happen all the time, but when it happens, it happens constantly."

Reply to
Oren

I can't verify this from my own experience, but a cable tech. once told me that temperature changes, from the high of the day to the low, can cause the signals in coax cables to vary by a few dB (but I forget which has the higher signal loss). If your upstream or downstream signal levels are marginal even when things are working, then perhaps they go out of range when it's cooler in the mornings. -WBE

Reply to
Winston

What are your RF readings from the modem's status page ?