WiFi/GPS Recorder

Does anyone know of an easy tool that will record GPS coordinates for areas where there are WiFi signals? What I am looking for is something that allows configuration based on simple rules. Like "If the signal is > 3 bars and it is an unsecure AP, record the GPS coordinates and the SSID."

I know there is a wardriver project. However, I am a medium level technologists, which is to say that I am an old-school programmer who has transitioned into executive management. This means that I have about a million responsibilities on my plate and can't pursue very many frivolous diversions such as coding the things I want anymore. So, I would research and write this thing but I just don't have time. The tool I am seaking would be a simple, Windows installable that has a few SaF parameters so that all I have to do is turn on my GPS unit and laptop in the car- something I do everyday anyway- and have it capture info as I drive around town.

Reply to
seven_percent
Loading thread data ...

Check out a program called wififofum it's public domain (free) (URL redirected from

formatting link

Reply to
Peter Pan

On Sun, 23 Jul 2006 10:17:02 -0400, "Peter Pan" wrote in :

Remind me never to drive in your area.

Reply to
John Navas

"seven_percent" hath wroth:

Netstumbler, Kismet, and anything claiming to be a "site survey" tool.

That's not configuration. That's programming. Netstumbler and Kismet will product log files that can be analyzed by a report generator.

However, if post processing is not acceptable, then Netstumbler 0.4 has scripting, which can be used to create the rule set:

formatting link

I'm sorry. Permit me to offer my sincere condolences. Managers have no time for fun.