WiFi and cable internet

I'm brand new to wireless internet, and I don't even know what's possible and what isn't. Nor do I even know what questions to ask (much less what to Google).

Here's my situation:

I currently have Time Warner cable modem hooked up to a Linksys BEFSR41 4 port wired router. This is hooked up to my computer, and only my computer. (I bought it primarily for the hardware firewall)

I read yesterday that our city will be getting free wireless internet access (part of Obama's incentive money I gather). What I would like to do is hook my computer up to both the Time Warner cable modem and the wireless internet when it becomes available. Is this possible? If so, what hardware do I need?

I realize the second question may be hard to answer with an exact make/model since I don't even know for sure which wifi standard they'll use (I don't even know if THEY know yet). But just knowing what TYPE of hardware is required will help.

Reply to
JimH
Loading thread data ...

In article ,

Assuming you already have a Wifi card in your computer, you should need nothing at all. I read your post as saying you are currently hard wired into the modem which means you are using ethernet. If that is the case, probably the only thing you would need to do is switch from the ethernet to the wifi card. In the Apple this would be done System Prefs-> network. (I don't have a Windows machine, but there is probably something similar there).

Reply to
Kurt Ullman

I have to wonder, you have something that works now and costs, but you want to do something free instead? you can't do both at once, it's one or the other, so why do you want to change? you would gain absolutely nothing, as a matter of fact you will probably lose a lot (wireless is way slower than wired, and presents a whole slew of security problems)