V8 cantenna

My first cantenna:

formatting link
I basically followed the design plans at, except substituted a V8 can:
formatting link
I haven't done precise signal strength measurements, but I'm getting 3 and 4 bars, when I used to get 1 and 2 and occasionally 3 with an omni- directional antenna.

Reply to
sillyputty
Loading thread data ...

Well done ! Amazing what we pay for antennas when something so simple works so well. BTW liked the tripod, beats my piece of wire .....

Reply to
Shadow

On Sep 1, 6:46 am, Shadow wrote: > Well done !

Thanks! The tripod was free. I put a wanted ad on craigslist and got a couple free tripods from a guy who wanted to get rid of some. The damn SMA cable is the most expensive part. I'm thinking about ordering the raw parts and assembling some myself. I do have some experience in that area - I used to be a cable/antenna installer and assembled RF cables.

Reply to
sillyputty

formatting link
antenna with a cable, costs less than the cable and connector.

Oops. "ONLY RP-MMCX REMAINS", but you could probably find others. Another antenna/cable assy on the same site is $10. Oops... same "ONLY RP-MMCX REMAINS" note on that one.

Reply to
dold

sillyputty hath wroth:

You're can antenna looks ok, but some measurements would be helpful to see how much gain you're really getting. Fire up Netstumbler and compare signal levels with the can antenna, and with whatever you were previously using.

Building SMA cables is quite different from CATV F connectors. With F connectors, all you do is strip back the jacket the required amount, and use a piston tool to shove in the connector. I think I could do it blindfolded.