Please help us with a fraud situation

Please help us with a fraud situation

We had some identity thefts situations with our credit cards and Bank accounts. People using our credit cards and writing checks against our account.

How can I set up a really secure internet connection in my home ?

I use a Windows XP - wireless laptop to access the internet I have in my home. We use Comcast cable. We have a WPA secure internet. We use a Netgear Rangemax MIMO and the Comcast modem.

Somehow some people have managed to get both our credit card numbers and bank account numbers and even driving license number.

I use this internet to access all our bank accounts etc.

Because of the fraud that occurred, we want to make sure that we have a really secure internet connection.

What additional hardware, software etc do I need, if any ? Since I am not a techie, pls help me with as much detail as possible.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Irfan Smith

Reply to
irfansmith
Loading thread data ...

People always point to the Internet when bad things happen...

We had our Chase account compromised a few years ago - Had nothing to do with Internet, but person used stolen checks from other mailboxes (reported), deposited into our account with cash back...but not caught.

Anyway - just think about all the places someone has your "info".

- credit cards when you hand them to someone at a food place

- checks at the grocery store, or anywhere you pay by check

- driver lic for some ID written down - maybe even on check

and NONE have anything to do with the Internet

Reply to
ps56k

I don't see anything resembling fraud. More like common sense and internet security setup. If this sounds like blame the victim, I appologize, but if your surfing and security practices are lacking, you are as big a part of the problem as the typical hacker.