2.4Ghz ampliier increase signal strength?

I'm a wireless novice, and I'd like to increase my 802.11 wireless signal strength and range. In particular, I want greater strength through walls. I understand that antennas focus signals, not strengthen them. I see a lot of 2.4Ghz signal amplifiers for sale. If I purchase one of these and hook it up to my antenna will this increase range and strength? Or do I mis understand the technology?

Reply to
Zycor
Loading thread data ...

If you get more of the sending or receiving signal to your wireless cards then an antenna is doing the job of an amplifier ... without spreading more or your signal around the neighborhood.

Compare an ordinary light bulb in just a socket with a spot lamp of the same wattage and you'll get the idea.

Reply to
JeB

How many walls? What type of walls? If it's drywall or wood, you have a chance. If it's concrete, steel, aluminium, or foil backed insulation, forget it.

Correct. Antennas do not generate any RF. The merely redirect it.

Many are totally illegal. Look for the FCC type certification (if in the USA).

Have you looked at the prices for these amplifiers? Even the cheapest is $100 plus.

Antennas improve the signal strengh in both directions. Amplifiers only boost the signal in one direction. In the reverse direction, you're limited by the transmit power of the non-amplified device. This lack of symmetry results in the range being limited by the weakest transmitter. The receive RF amplifier in the power amp does little except eliminate any coaxial cable losses.

Suggestion: If you're trying to get answers from newsgroups and mailing lists, kindly supply:

1. What are you trying to accomplish?
  2. What do you have to work with? (Existing hardware and RF environment).
  3. What have you tried and what happened? (Not applicable in this case, but very useful for techy problems).