Pay as you go on minute basis VoIP plans....

I'm new to this whole VoIP thing. I looked into it some months ago but hadn't taken any action yet. My situation is this: I don't talk a lot on the phone. Currently, the cheapest plan I found was BroadVoice in state calling which is $9.95 a month.

My question is: Is there a plan which you pay as you go along on a minute basis? I've found the website LiveVoIP which seems pretty cheap (you must of course by initialliy lots of minutes - but still cheap). There are some terms out there I don't quite understand: Asterisk, Sipura. Can please somebody explain to me exactly what these things are and are they complicated/complex to install?

Ideally (and it probably doesn't exist), I would like to have a phone which I can use to call other people and other people can call me which uses VoIP technology. In order to minimize costs, I want to pay as I go by the minutes.

Any insights will be most helpful.

Reply to
jonathanztaub
Loading thread data ...

Lingo's Lingo Link plan is $7.95 month for service plus 3 cpm for outgoing calls. Incoming calls and calls to other Lingo users are free. I don't know of anything cheaper if you want an incoming phone number.

If you just want to call out there's all sorts of pay per minute plans.

Reply to
John R. Levine

Stanaphone / MutualPhone is the answer. 100% free. You pay as you go!

Reply to
Sekhar

I have been using Net2phone which has no monthly fee and no minimums. I do not like using headsets, so I purchased my service and IP PHONE from

formatting link

Rates are about 2.5 cents per minute to a US land line, and the quality with the Phone is very good. It is a no frills service, no virtual phone numbers etc, but you just send them $25 or more at a time and use it like a phone credit card...been using it over a year on a normal Home DSL Line. I can check my remaining balance by pressing a button on the phone.

Like you, I hate c>I'm new to this whole VoIP thing.

Reply to
Heywood