The future of ISDN?

I am new to this group, but it seems to be the proper forum for my needs. I am a studio installer specializing in studios for Voice Over artists. Currently, the VO industry of promos relies almost exclusively on ISDN technology to transceive Mpeg codec data, using devices such as the Telos Zephyr. This has been the standard for almost ten years now, and everyone has been happy with the sound quality and reliability. HOWEVER, as I setup more new studios, getting ISDN service installed is becoming more and more difficult. Verizon has "grandfathered' current ISDN subscribers but will no longer setup new ISDN service in some areas. There is technology using IP available, but the idea of having to go through several switches reduces reliability considerably, especially with the number of users growing so rapidly. Is there a chance that there might be and ISDN 2.0 in development? Or is there another existing technology that could considered as reliable as ISDN?

Thanks everyone...

George Whittam eldorec.com

Reply to
geo
Loading thread data ...

There's no direct successor to ISDN in sight. For a while it looked as if it might be ATM (asynchronous transfer mode) but these days it's all about packets (maybe ethernet) delivered by various means (copper, cable, fibre, wireless...).

If you really want reliability between defined locations you can get it at a price, in the form of digital leased lines (delivered as SDSL or whatever). Another way is having several redundant standard low-cost broadband connections from different suppliers, if available.

Reply to
Phil McKerracher

You might be better of switching over completely to an IP based network. If you get a highspeed connection like Verizon FiOS, it might meet your reliability requirements.

There are standards like MPLS for a more reliable transfer but I am not sure how extensively they will be deployed in the IP backbone.

-- EventStudio System Designer 2.5 -

formatting link