Re: Corporations Forcing Workers To Train Their Foreign

Corporations Forcing Workers To Train Their Foreign Replacements

> Donald Trump swore that he was going to bring American jobs back to > this country, but he's done absolutely nothing to make that a > reality. Instead, corporations are still shipping jobs overseas, and > to add insult to injury, many of these companies are forcing their > American workers to train their foreign replacements. Ring of Fire's > Farron Cousins explains what's happening. > >
formatting link

I am no expert on economics, but I think the trend of outsourcing labor overseas is a bad idea and unnecessary.

Sure, all businesses want to save money and sometimes overseas labor can do so. But, in my opinion, there is a bigger picture that must be considered. If workers are laid off en masse, they won't be able to afford to buy much, which will suppress the economy.

Secondly, there is an ethical consideration. I could understand that if a business is struggling and overseas is the only way it can survive, it may be necessary. But these days many businesses are doing very well yet still dumping jobs overseas. I believe that is wrong. (I'm not sure how to resolve that.)

Third, many businesses have been targets of takeover from things like private equity or aggressive mergers & acquisitions. As a result, they are saddled with unsustainable debt. These companies also use that as an excuse to cut wages and benefits and reduce jobs. Again, I think this is wrong. In this area, the aggressive M&A needs to be reduced, along with dumping unsustainable debt on the remaining business.

As I see it, business in the U.S. did wonderfully since WW II. But in the 1980s, what was considered wonderful was then seen as inadequate. New players wanted more. They developed new financial instruments and new tactics. As a result, wealth concentrated upward toward the very top and the working people were left behind.

***** Moderator's Note *****