Non mains system

Hi guys.

Newbie here. I need to protect 3 containers in a field. They will be fenced in eventually. Will have mains on eventually but even the meter box needs planning permission so nothing happening soon on that front. I've had two visits already. I live miles away and I need to use these containers asap. Any ideas anyone?

In language I can understand please.

Thanks. Paul

Reply to
Paul O'Grady
Loading thread data ...

What are you trying to protect? Trash? Machinery?

You can use a line of sight network which can transmit up to 10 miles. You will need a solar panel, and some gel cell batteries for power. You may want to use a couple of marine deep cycle batteries instead.

The network will enable you to send alarm contact, video, and audio signals. It depends what you want to do, and how much you want to spend.

A local alarm tied into a solar panel array & backup batteries is enough to discourage theft or vandalism. A few outdoor motions covering all sides of the area with a prerecorded message announcement can be done as well.

You can also try a car alarm pager system tied into the alarm if you live within 5 miles to alert you of an alarm. Outside the USA you can purchase paging transmitters that will transmit 10+ miles if conditions are right.

Jim Rojas

Paul O'Grady wrote:

Reply to
Jim Rojas

Jim's got some good general suggestions, but it would be more helpful if we knew exactly what you had in mind for "protection"? A local alarm to scare off intruders? A paging alarm to inform you of an intrusion? Video surveillance? Forcefield? Electrify the containers so anyone tampering with them gets fried?

Reply to
Matt Ion

You may also want to post to uk.tech.electronic-security with this.

Reply to
G. Morgan

I've got locations running a 60 watt solar panel w/ charge controller, cellular communicator, full commercial alarm, several gell cell batteries, and a good loud outdoor siren.