Video Surveillance Software?

I posted this on security alarms NG but haven't gotten any replies yet. I thought it may be better suited for posting here.

I am in the process of trying out a Lorex system that uses software by Strategic Vista. The system consists of a USB capture device and software, that's it. I can't seem to get some of the program features to work so I was wondering if there might be a better software package out there. Here's a link to the system:

formatting link
The price listed is not what it sells for...I think I know why it' a clearance item. (Radio Shack...35.00) Thanks for any advice. Joe

Reply to
JW
Loading thread data ...

I'm a software developer and have something that I use to guard the alley behind my apartment. I'm willing to let others try it if I can get some minimal feedback on how it works and what capture device was verified with it. It's not fancy but it records into .AVI files and has a motion detector, and alarm.

If you want to try it you must have...

• a very fast CPU (at least 1 GHZ...I think. I'm using dual
2.8 GHZ in my system)
  • Direct draw capable display adapter
  • a capture device that works with my SW (but who knows which ones unless someone helps me test it)
  • 32 bit Windows (NT, W2K, Xp), not 98, M/E nor 95.

I've already confronted possible car burglars and it's prevented crime just by alerting me when someone comes into the alley at night. No one comes into the alley without my knowledge. I'm also using a very sensitive night camera (DX-8263SL) with it.

formatting link
Dave

Reply to
Dave

How does one know if their display adapter has this feature? If you have an expensive PC would this then be a common feature?

Are you shooting through a window? Or do you have this in some large weatherproof housing?

Don (e-mail link at home page bottom).

Reply to
Don Wiss