Using a higher rated DC transformer

Good morning, all.

I have an electronic device that requires a DC Wall transformer rated for 12VDC at 600 mA. Unfortunately, I have lost the power supply and I cannot find another one with that exact rating. My friendly Radio Shack representative tells me that the device only "pulls" what it needs from the transformer, the transformer does not "push" that much to the device. He tells me I can use a 12vdc at 1A for the device and it will work.

Is this true? I do not want to fry my device by "pushing" 400mA more to it than it needs. If he is right, may I use a transformer rated for

12vdc at 2.5 amps protected by the same principle? You can tell I'm not an electrical engineer. :) I would appreciate any thoughts. Thank you!

Matthew

Reply to
Connah
Loading thread data ...

You could even use one rated for 25 or more amps (should you be able to find one) as long as you do not exceed 12VDC on the voltage. Your RS rep knows whereof he speaks.

formatting link
snipped-for-privacy@yahoogroups.com

Reply to
Dave Houston

Matthew,

This time (surprisingly!), the Radio Shack guy is correct. As long as the transformer is rated for the same voltage and *at least as much* current, you'll be fine. The connected device will draw only the current it requires, regardless of the capacity of the source.

Regards, Eric

Reply to
eschuylerTAKE

Hi guys! Thank you very much for your reply! On another newsgroup, a gentleman mentioned that if the higher rated wall transformer is UNregulated, then it may put out higher voltage but if it IS regulated, I should have no problems. So with that in mind, 2 questions.

1) Is this accurate? 2) The power supply I intend to use reads: 12VDC 2.5A MAX

Does the word "MAX" there imply that devices drawing a lower current can indeed make use of this transformer. Does that word imply it is "regulated"?

Again, thank you!

Reply to
Connah