Sound recognition (not voice) - recording instances and duration of

I am trying to automate the recording of when, and how long for a certain audio "Alarm" goes off. This alarm is located about 30 feet from our house and the alarm can be going off for anywhere from 2 mins to 30+ mins.

I need to use my PC (which is on 24-7) and its microphone (which i can point towards the source of the sound) to take a note of when and for how long the alarm sound is operating. I was thinking of using some speech recognition program for this but am unsure if this would work for the "Wa Wa Wa" of an alarm and not speech as is intended in these applications.

I'm a VB programmer by trade so probably would be able to build something to do this if I just knew where to begin. . .

it would be sort of like a motion dector security system but being triggered by a specific sound instead of motion on a camera (the sound in question is on a very short repeating loop)

does anyone have some usefull pointers on how something like this could be achieved?

Cheers

Bondyboy

Reply to
BondyBoy
Loading thread data ...

I'd just use something like CoolEdit and record for twelve or twenty four hours. If you start at 12AM then you'd have a good map of exactly when it went off - you'd just read off the time tick marks. With modern large hard disk drives, you can record quite a bit of audio on a PC.

We did a similar thing when we were concerned that the dog was barking in the crate when we were out. You get a mostly flat audio file with a few small bumps. It's very easy to zoom in on the little "bumps" that will show in the audio file. I am sure a wa-wa siren has a pretty distinct looking signature.

If you're looking for proof you can take to court, you might have to get a little more sophisticated.

-- Bobby G.

Reply to
Robert Green

There are numerous kits for voice activation. I would try to use one of them (modified, if necessary) and log the times it switches on/off.