Newbie Trying to sort it all out...

Hello,

I've been lurking for a few days, and I'm looking for some (mainly) lighting control advice. I've got over 20 years electronics experience and have done my own home wiring, but never dealt with X10 or any of the other lighting control technologies (except switches!)

Of course, every vendor site offers the best thing since sliced bread, and I'm looking to sort out who makes what, and what's interoperable with what, etc.

I want to be able to shut off all lights from one place, to turn on/off the exterior lights singly or in groups, to adjust lighting for TV/movie watching in the family room and rec room, control decorative lighting (my wife decided we had to have the candle lamps in the windows on the front of the house).

I'd also like to be able to control the family room and rec room lighting via wireless remote, perhaps one of the home theater programmable, universal types - I'd like to control AV equipment (via IR) and lighting (via IR or RF, don't care.)

Thanks,

Mike

Reply to
randomnoise
Loading thread data ...

Dave,

Thanks for the advice - I'll continue to lurk & pick up on the experience here.

I am looking to retrofit an existing house - The house is about 8 years old, we've been in it about 2½ months. I'm not looking for bottom dollar solutions - those often end up costing so much in time, repairs & replacements, but I'm not looking to go top-end either. For now, I'm really only looking at lighting control - I haven't even thought about much else, except perhaps thermoststs.

I'll order the SmartHome catalog today. I am will> You should lurk for a few more weeks.

Reply to
randomnoise

You should lurk for a few more weeks.

You don't provide much in the way of specifics but it sounds like you want to add automation features to an existing house rather than to one being constructed. You also don't say how much you want to spend.