Good Home Automation Guide for New Constructions?

I've been trying to find a good guide on the internet for putting home automation into a new construction. Specifically, I'm trying to figure out:

- Whether I should wire for home automation (specifically surveillance and security), or use wireless products

- What wired/wireless products are "good". I'm not looking to spend a fortune, but I'd like to be able to expand and replace as time goes on.

-Is there one "good" brand for thermostat, lighting, security, surveillance, etc. Every website I've found is trying to sell x10 or insteon, but it's hard to tell if they are any good, or if a wired solution would be better.

I'm really not trying to get the people in this group to do my legwork for me. I'd just like some general nudging to a good site that isn't trying to push me toward their products.

Thanks,

Mildog

Reply to
mildog
Loading thread data ...

Hello Mildog. I have been doing amateur home automation for about ten years now. There are many in this forum with much more experience than me but I will give you my two cents worth. My house has a lot of "home- grown" automation and I've done some home automation work for a few friends. The equipment in my house controls the HVAC, sprinkler system, garage door, some of the lights. I have web pages where I can check the temperature in any room, all incoming and outgoing phone calls, HVAC status, garage door, etc. I am currently working on occupancy sensors, security, etc.