Script to disconnect Linksys WRT54G wireless router on Windows

Is there an existing wireless router linksys WRT54G script out there that will run from Windows XP and hit the 'connect' & 'disconnect' button?

For example, I'd like to disconnect my wireless router (firmware 1.02.0) by clicking on a single shortcut to replace the multiple button presses today.

That shortcut would (perhaps using wget or some other idea):

1. Connect to the wireless router IP address (https://192.168.0.1)2. Log in with a blank username & enter 'letmein' as the password
  2. Navigate to the "Status -> Router" Linksys WRT54G web page
  3. Press the "Login Status = Disconnect" button

A similar shortcut would reconnect on demand.

Is "wget" the best way to accomplish this?

I can't believe I'm the first person to need this so some kind wireless guy must have done this already. I googled for "linksys wrt54g connect script" and found something called "slackware" in addition to "wget" but I'm not a programmer so I would like to start with an existing script that does SOMETHING like hit any button on the Linksys WRT54G router. Once I have that, I can probably modify that program to do what I want.

I did find

formatting link
but I did not understand most of the detail (I have a lot to learn).

Does anyone have a script that runs on windows that will connect to https://192.168.x.y to then hit a button on the Linksys WRT54G router?

Reply to
Wilson
Loading thread data ...

Hi Routers are propriety devices there is No one universal way to control them. As a result you cab expect Windows as an OS to be programmed to control every Independent 3rd party device. If it really important you can learn simple scripting, or pay some one to do it. If you just want to disconnect a computer from the Router you can use the IPCONFOG /release command.

formatting link
(MVP-Networking).

Reply to
Jack (MVP-Networking).

Wilson hath wroth: