Please help us with a fraud situation

Please help us with a fraud situation

We had some identity thefts situations with our credit cards and Bank accounts. People using our credit cards and writing checks against our account.

How can I set up a really secure internet connection in my home ?

I use a Windows XP - wireless laptop to access the internet I have in my home. We use Comcast cable. We have a WPA secure internet. We use a Netgear Rangemax MIMO and the Comcast modem.

Somehow some people have managed to get both our credit card numbers and bank account numbers and even driving license number.

I use this internet to access all our bank accounts etc.

Because of the fraud that occurred, we want to make sure that we have a really secure internet connection.

What additional hardware, software etc do I need, if any ? Since I am not a techie, pls help me with as much detail as possible.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Irfan Smith

Reply to
irfansmith
Loading thread data ...

Am Tue, 27 May 2008 20:00:26 -0700 schrieb irfansmith:

You won't have a 100% secure connection.

1. check you computers for malware
  2. check who has access to you network (people) and how does they handle with sensoble data
  3. check what you throw to the garbage (receipts, old bills etc.)

I don't think you loose your informations only on the internet connection.

cheers

Reply to
Burkhard Ott

I agree,

You probably did not loose all this info due to your wireless connection. your info probably got nabbed because someone hacked a merchant you use, or someone who uses your computer from within your house opened an email attached which contained malware like maybe a key logger on your computer.