Is someone watching my computer?

Hello,

I am quite new to firewalls, therefore I am hoping for some general advice on what I can do to learn about all this.

I am using Windows XP. I have installed Norton Internet Security 2006 and Ad-Aware SE, but still wonder how others can infiltrate my computer. I assume there are VNC type applications and keyboard loggers that have ways of getting around both Norton and Ad-Aware.

Are there ways to detect the use of programs like VNC and key loggers sending data out by looking at firewall logs? Is Norton a good tool for doing this with? Other suggestions for analyzing my network traffic?

As an experiment I made a copy of winvnc and renamed it as systemfile.exe. After launching it, Norton came up with the regular message asking if it was ok to give this application to the Internet. It certainly didn't say that this looked like WinVNC given a different name... Couldn't one of these monitor programs be given an official looking name and launched along with everything else?

Therefore...I have been wondering about reviewing network traffic...Any advice?

Thanks!

Reply to
greyteabox
Loading thread data ...

snipped-for-privacy@yahoo.com wrote in news:1168667967.088345.174880@

11g2000cwr.googlegroups.com: