Help with Switches their performance and monitoring

Hi gents, I'm a newbie in switching, I've found a problem in one of the companies I take care of. They have 5 switches, connected via fiber most of them, and with 6 different VLans configured . If necesary I can post config. So, every one is complaining about performance and I want to know what the problem could be, so I wondered if you could tell me your tricks to se how traffic flows, or may be the software you would recommend me to use to see if there are critical points in my network that are making my server less available .

As this is my very first implementation with switches anything you can tell me, surely will be helpfull for my future. Thanks to you all for this and other questions, and regards.

Reply to
Sako
Loading thread data ...

I forgot mentioning most of them are catalyst 2950 and 3500. Thnks

Reply to
Sako

How many ports per switch? How many ports are available per switch? Have you specified link speed and duplex on each port of the switch as well on all servers and workstations? What speed and duplex are you running, 10/100 full or half duplex? Is the slowness inter-vlan or routing between vlans? If the slowness is between vlans then how are you routing them? What vlan protocol are you using, ISL, or 802.1q? Do you have http enabled? The web console of the 3550 has some utilities built into it that will show you network utilization.

Need more info on specifically how your network is laid out.

Ethereal is a good packet sniffing application and it is free.

Reply to
Newbie72

In article , Newbie72 wrote, without quoting any context:

It happens that we can answer that based on the information given by the OP [but which you omitted in your non-quoting]. The OP indicated that the equipment involved as cat 2950 and 3500. The cat2950 does not support ISL, so the VLANs [at least the ones between the 2950s and anything else] must be 802.1Q.