help - PIX translation and ports question

Hi,

My company just got a PIX 506E and unfortunately I am not very experienced with it, and am having some big problems. I have 2 PIX books and have looked online but am for some reason having big problems with doing things that should be easy. I dont know if this is because I am using PDM and not the CLI or what...but I desperately need help.

Here is what I need to do:

The PIX sits in front of our LAN....nothing else is behind it. Our web and mailserver are at our ISP.

We are switching to Exchange, also being hosted at our ISP.

When I first set up the PIX last month, I used the PDM wizard, and it created a single PAT translation rule:

global (outside) 1 interface nat (inside) 1 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0 0

I am embarassed for how newbie these upcoming questions are going to be:

interfaces:

PIX outside interface = 164.60.128.2 PIX inside interface = 192.168.1.1

Exchange server = 64.74.74.31

We will be having 5 exchange mailboxes.

What exactly do I have to do to create an ACL that will allow this traffic {TCP 135 and 139 and UDP 137 and 138 (and whatever other ports I need to open)} from 64.74.74.31 into my network?

Is PAT screwing me up?

Could someone please help me here...opening up ports should not be so hard.....this is really frustrating me.

Pix 6.3(5) PDM 3.0(4)

Thanks in advance for your help

Reply to
Mike_B
Loading thread data ...

I notice that you list the NETBIOS ports but do not list the LDAP ports. That suggests that you will be using the older Exchange 2000 rather than the newer Exchange 2003. I never really had a chance to test out the flows for a properly configured remote Exchange 2003 server, but I have had... "interesting times"... with PIX and Exchange 2000.