doubts about nat-traversal

Hi gents as some of you know I'm still figthing with vpn client in one of my companies, it seems I found some things in the client log, and I compare the config with one of vpn that work and it seems the only thing left is nat-traversal. Is nat traversal necesary when you have an ip address out of the inside ip range, and you have a no_nat_acl for the vpn tunneling? Can nat traversal give me problems with the tunnels already working? Thanks for your consideration, I'm quite new in this issues and I hope I can do with a little of your help.

Reply to
Sako
Loading thread data ...

The nat-traversal has nothing to do with your IP's or where it sits in the range and has nothing to do with your other VPN tunnels. Nat-Traversal tells the Pix to allow remote VPN users that are behind a pat'd address which protocol to use and if enabled on the Pix (or concentrator) is negotiated when the client connects. You can turn it on anytime and will not affect any users or other tunnels, the Pix command is "isakmp nat-traversal 20"

Reply to
Brian V

It has been 6+ months since I looked at the specificiations, so I might be misremembering, but if I recall correctly then there is a case in which enabling nat-traversal can interfere with existing tunnels (the next time they are negotiated.)

If I recall correctly, nat-traversal negotiation involves sending a trial packet with a known source port of UDP 4500, to a known destination port of UDP 4500. If the remote end sees the source port as something other than UDP 4500 then it knows that PAT has taken place, and it informs the sender to encapsulate ESP and AH packets within UDP. The encapsulation will have a random source port and a fixed destination port of UDP 4500 on the receiving security gateway.