Creating a new network with cabling and wall outlets in 2 buildings

Hi everybody,

I am quite new to networking, and I need to set up a network of PCs spread out on two buildings. Building 1 is with 4 floors, and Building 2 with a single floor.

I want the cabling to be based on wall outlets, with one 2-connector outlet at each of the floors in Building 1, except on the top floor where only a single outlet is needed. In building 2 I want one 4-connector outlet (or two

2-connector outlets). I have made a topology diagram below:

Building 1 Building 2

Floor 2 PCs Wall outlets

----- ------- | --- | | |------|| 1 || ------- | --- | ----- | Floor 1 | | ------- ------- --------- | | | | ------- | --- --- | ------- ------- | |------|| 1 | 2 || ------- ------- ------- | --- --- | | | | | --------- ------- ------- | | | Floor 0 | \\ / | \\ / --------- --------\\ /------ ------- | --- --- | | --- --- --- --- | | |------|| 1 | 2 || || 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 || ------- | --- --- | | --- --- --- --- | --------- ----------------- | | Basement | | Subnet 192.168.0.0 | | --------- | ------- | --- --- | ------- | |------|| 1 | 2 || ------| | ------- | --- --- | | ------- --------- | | | Subnet 192.168.1.0 | | ----------- --------------- |Cable modem|---|Firewall/Switch| ----------- ---------------

The network should connect to the Internet via a Cable modem and a Firewall/ Switch of the type 3Com® OfficeConnect® VPN Firewall (details can be found on the following link) :

formatting link
Inside the Firewall, the network is equipped with a 3Com® OfficeConnect® Gigabit Switch 5 - described on the following link:

formatting link
Now, the question is: How do I construct this network with the fewest possible cables running - especially between the two buildings? How do I interconnect the wall outlets? Besides the normal STP cables as well as the connectors for the wall outlets, what hardware is needed?

I appreciate any answers. Thanks in advance.

Best regards, L. Hummel, Denmark

Reply to