your feedback on DIY security alarm system

Hi,

I am planning to purchase a DIY home alarm system and I was wondering if I could get your opinions about the alarm systems present here:

formatting link
that captured my attention:

- Ademco Wireless Ready Package

- Ademco Plus PowerPack V20P

- PowerMax Plus Wireless System

Here are my constraints:

- Want to cover about 10 windows and 3 doors

- Need a feature that has the ability to send alerts via. phone, e-mail

- Easy to install (wireless most probably)

- Price limit $350

- Expandability (ability to monitor to about 30 devices)

- Supports a couple of motion sensors

Nice to have:

- Access from the internet to the alarm system

- Ability to send alerts to more than one phone number

I am new to home security alarm systems but I have chalked down all the features that I like to see. I would really appreciate if you would please give me feedback on the systems that are present in the web page. I am open to alternatives.

Thanks for your time.

Reply to
aerosmith
Loading thread data ...

add the Elk M1EZ8 to your list of panels to check out. For a great site to review the Elk, check out

formatting link

I use the Elk M1 Gold. See my site below for the GUI software I use to manage it.

Reply to
IVB

Hi,

One question about Elk M1EZ8 though. If any of the wired connections get disconnected or if the PSTN wired is cut off from the control unit does the device set off an alarm in another way (like triggering the siren through the speakers)? If the PSTN wire is cut off how can the alarm system notify the owner? Can we run some software elsewhere on the internet and keep poking the control unit to see if it is reachable or something like that? I am just thinking about the extreme conditions where the burglar might cut off the PSTN or the magnetic sensor wires before breaking in.

Thanks.

Reply to
aerosmith

Variety of ways of dealing with this, ask over on cocoontech.com, there's a TON of Elk users there.