advice for older IBM Thinkpad

I have a 2003 IBM Thinkpad that came with an internal IBM wireless card. I am having Optimum Online installed and will need a wireless router. My PC sometimes automatically connects to Linksys that is coming into my house from somewhere else, so I know the wireless card works. My question is -- what wireless router should I buy for this older computer that will be in a medium-sized split level house? If the router is on the bottom level, I need the signal to go up at least two small flights of stairs. Do I need to upgrade the wireless card or buy a new one that goes into the USB port? The laptop is my work computer, so I can't fool around too much with the insides (I don't own it -- the company does). Any wireless advice would be appreciated. I am a newbie at this. Bev

Reply to
Bev
Loading thread data ...

I would not get an integrated wireless router. I'd get a wired router and a separate wireless access point.

My suggestion for a router is to have a look at a 3Com OfficeConnect DSL/Cable router. I've used these in businesses and never had a hiccup or problem.

For a wireless access point, we use a Cisco 1121g (available on eBay cheap, relatively speaking).

The 3Com router is very robust, easy to set up and is very stable. The Cisco A/P is strong, easy to set up, has lots of security options and is very stable and reliable. Our 1121g blankets our house with a very strong signal that reaches a long way outside our house (see "lots of security options").

The limiting factor on wireless may be the strength of the radio inside your laptop. If the laptop radio isn't strong enough, its signal won't reach the access point in sufficient strength to provide a quality connection.

The use of separate components allows for future upgrades without having to reconfigure your entire system. The quality of the components means you probably won't start having failures a few months after you get the system installed.