A question about CO wiring [telecom]

I've been working for a company that sells a line-switching device for use by the utility industry. We routinely get boxes returned to us that have been fried by voltage spikes, and it occurs to me that a central office must take a lot of surges, spikes, etc. That's a paradox, because I never heard of a CO being damaged by anything but a direct lightning hit the whole time I was a tech.

We had, of course, "carbons" and "heat coils" at the frame that were intended to take care of spikes coming in on the cable, but to gauge by the way today's electronic boxes get burned up so easily, I'm really surprised we didn't have a lot more trouble with lightning. Ergo, I'm wondering what other equipment was used to keep the CO's from suffering at Zeus' hands.

Bill

-- Bill Horne (Filter QRM for direct replies)

Reply to
Bill Horne
Loading thread data ...

Bill,

The old electomechanical switches (including the analog ESS) were pretty much immume from anything that got through the carbon blocks. The heat coils were for overcurrent protection due to a short in the cable plant.

Modern digital line cards have "secondary protection" circuits which are specifically design to deal with anything that can get past the gas tubes that replaced the carbon blocks. Don't forget the gas tubes short the pair to ground when activated (as did the carbon blocks). Gas tube protectors are more closely controlled as to breakover voltage than the old carbon blocks. That and maintenance issues are the reason they replaced the carbon blocks. This secondary protection often uses high voltage tolerant technology and can be designed to be very effective. The heat coils are still in place to protect from shorts in the cable plant, but modern digital line cards also current limit the loop current to something in the 20-40 mA range.

CO bonding and grounding is also very good compared to most subscriber locations.