New CCNA Candidate

Hi, all!

I find myself unemployed from the automotive business (service manager, never a wrench-turner), and quite frankly, I am sick of the business. All the negative things you've heard about the business ARE TRUE!! I got into the business because (1) I am good at selling, and (2) I wanted to make a difference for my customers. Well, SCREW THAT!!

I now have the opportunity to get some free, government paid training for a career change. I have been building PC's since 1980 (!), and have even set up a 3-node network in my home in the past using NetBEUI (ugh!). I never considered networking as a career, mainly because after passing the MCP test (2000 & Network Essentials), I was soooo bored with the whole OSI model that it made me wonder how anyone could enjoy that to the point of making a career out of it. Boy, was I wrong!

I have been going over a Cisco CBT I downloaded a couple of days ago, and whaddaya know? I GET IT!! I guess being an old DOS/CPM jockey helps, yes?

Background: I'm 55, but have been playing with PC's since they were invented (1980). Had a job with CSC for a few years as a QA Analyst in

1998 (hated it!) before the Dot Com implosion. Found myself down-sized, and with a bad taste in my mouth for IT in general. That's how I ended up in automotive.

Now, with that said, here's my question for the group: I find I have a real understanding of the whole networking concept, and am going to get CCNA certified in a couple of weeks. I don't care if I get stuck as a Net Admin for a few weeks or months, since I'm going to go the CCNP route ASAP anyway.

WILL MY AGE BE A DETRIMENT IN FINDING A NETWORK JOB??

I have my B.S. in Business Administration, but I don't think it'll be much help, and I won't go back to school for a CS degree. I'm mainly interested in a career that'll let me make pretty good money for the next 10-12 years, and then I'm going to retire. I hope to put my natural tech geekiness to good use in the network field.