Let the games begin!

I guess your clients and friends aren't too bright! Do you backup your hard disk from time to time? If not you will sooner or later lose some, or all, of your data!

A device called a "Link Station Pro" will give you several hundred GB of network accessible disk storage. I use mine to backup my hard drive. Your hard drive SHOULD last for four or five years but, as we all know, shit happens.

Reply to
Richard B. Gilbert
Loading thread data ...

Normal average folks actually. They shouldn't have to be computer professionals to use computers.

Sure, but then I'm a professional.

Maybe yes, maybe no.

My usual advice to clients and friends is a USB hard drive. Windows now has excellent backup, so software isn't an issue. I offer to make it automatic, because they otherwise won't do it. Cloud computing is another good solution for many.

Reply to
John Navas

John Navas wrote on [Tue, 06 Jul 2010 10:15:54 -0700]:

True, but they should also know some basics before they start blaming other people for their problems. Anyone I know who has lost data due to not backing up now either thinks about backing up or backs up

Using both is also a good idea, ask Francis Ford Coppola.

formatting link
Although Coppola has saved copies of the Tetro script elsewhere, on Friday he issued a plea for the return of a small computer backup device.

He said, "They stole our computers; they got all our data, many years of work. If I could get the backup back, it would save me years--all the photographs of my family, all my writing."

Reply to
Justin