5G network

I just purchased a Netgear dual Band Gigabit Router (WNDR 3700) and it works great. But my laptop cannot see the 5G wlan. So I looked at the device manager and under network adapters I see:

a) Atheros AR8161/8165 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet controller (NDIS 6.20) b) Realtek RTL8723AE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC

Is this nic incapable of 5g? Is it a matter of drivers or the adapter?

Thank you.

Reply to
Jeff
Loading thread data ...

A cursory google suggests it's 2.4G only. I can't find a reference to it on realtek.com for some reason.

Reply to
alexd

Thank you. That is what I thought I found but because I am no expert in wlans I was not sure if I was interpreting the specs I found correctly.

Thanks for confirming. The nic came built-in in my Toshiba laptop.

So, if this is the case should I see if there is a way to turn off the router's 5.4 capability? Does it matter? Is it a security risk to leave the 5.4 broadcasting?

Thanks again and happy new year.

Jeff

Reply to
Jeff

and what exactly is a 5G WLAN ?

Reply to
ps56k

duh - was thinking more in the cellular world and 5G meaning 5th-generation vs the 5G meaning 5Ghz WiFi -

Reply to
ps56k

Sorry if I used the wrong terms. I am a newbie. I mean my router broadcasting in 5.4 Ghz (I think).

Reply to
Jeff

Sorry again. The router interface calls it 5.0Ghz.

Reply to
Jeff

what's your real question - speed, interference, compatibility ?

A dual band WiFi router has the capability to transmit in either/both the

2.4 and the 5.0 Ghz freqs. The 802.11n WiFi protocol is what actually defines the "speed" not the 2.4 vs 5.0 freq -

Your "G" used here is for Ghz or frequency - not like cellular where "G" is for "generation" which implies a speed increase - like ..... 2G vs 3G vs 4G

Reply to
ps56k

My question is the following: I have now determined that my laptop nic adapters are only 2.4 capable. That is OK with me because the download speed is excellent.