How to detect disconnected numbers?

Hi

I'm working for a social research firm that dials random numbers from the phone book. At least 1 in 5 are disconnected, and I'm told there is a way to electronically detect disconnected numbers without waiting for the recorded message.

I'm a database programmer, so I don't know much about telcos, but I'm guessing that either there is a different impedance across the pair when the exchange answers, or an inaudible frequency that indicates whether or not a number is live. That's all I can think of.

Someone solved this once before for my boss when he was at another company, but their code is proprietory, so I have to start again. I hope someone can help.

TIA Gordon

Reply to
Gordon Jarret
Loading thread data ...

Gee, that's nice. I live with about 300 million other US residents who get pissed as hell when we get these phone calls.

How'd you like it if all the people you randomly dial got ahold of your phone numbers and called you back? How much would your boss like it?

Reply to
danny burstein

Yeah, but at least he's not in the U.S.

Gordon, here we use 3 distinct tones called SIT tones to indicate a non-working number and random number dialing is illegal in most, if not all, states.

Carl

Reply to
Carl Navarro

In Carl Navarro writes: [ snip ]

yabbut, he's also a hypocrite. Here he's talking about making annoyance calls, yet he's got a spam-blocked address in his post.

Alas, (no) thanks to the best Congress money can buy, "non profit" research/polling calls (along with calls from politicians...) are exempt from most of the "do not call" regs.

Reply to
danny burstein

In the social research industry, we do understand that some people either have no opinion, or do not wish to express it. That's fine. We hope though, that when you refuse to tell us what you think about for example, health or defence policy, that you forfeit your right to complain when the actions of government agencies are contrary to your wishes.