GSM speech coding

Hi all, I'm a newbie in the field of telecom tech. For my very first post I need to ask a question regarding GSM speech coding. Every articles on the net stated that 64 kbps (DS-0) is unrealistic to transmit across a radio transmission. In GSM, that bit-rate need to be lowered to 13 kbps. But why ? Is there any basic theory/articles that discussed it in any detailed calculation/math ? Forgive me for my quite silly question.

Any reply would be very appreciated.

Regards, Cass

Reply to
cassablanca
Loading thread data ...

Basic theories on encoding speech (or any sound) digitally were laid down over 50 years ago. You might do a web search on Claude Shannon from Bell Labs. The basic theory goes that, to record frequencies up to XX hertz, you need to take digital samples at twice that frequency. So, in order to record spoken telephone up to 4 kHz, you need to take samples at 8 kHz. Each sample can have one or more bits, with more bits translating to higher quality. 8 bit samples were deemed good enough for voice, thus resulting in the standard of 64 kbps for standard telephone conversation.

(Music is usually sampled at 44 kHz or faster, with 16 bits or more.....)

When the early work was done, compression of a bit-stream wasn't practical. We actually had to have digital bandwidth sufficient to transmit 64kbps for a digital circuit. For a long time, it was more economical to just send analog signals rather than try to do digital. Today, of course, it's cheap to send gigabits over wire or fiber. But radio spectrum is scarce. So, modern cell phone systems need a way to use less bandwidth for each call. Using GSM techniques, 13 kbps could be used to carry a compressed signal with roughly the same quality as uncompressed 64 kbps. CDMA techniques are a bit more advanced, and can compress even further.