Re: Electric Powerlines to be Used For Broadband

agents. (b) I personally have tried so-called 'wireless intercoms'

> between different locations nearby; sometimes they worked (although in > a rather piss-poor way; other times not at all. I have no personal > experience with (a) but have been told the connections are very > 'noisy' many times, and (b) when they worked, they seemed to have a > lot of 'hum' in the background. When they did not work (all I got > was hum with no audible voice at all) I am told this was because the > two intercom stations involved were on opposite 'legs' of the > transfomer. Can anyone explain this better to me?

Pat,

The standard electrical service to homes in the U.S. is a 3-wire system which delivers both 120 and 240 volts. The secondary on the pole transformer provides 240V, but has a center tap which is grounded and becomes the neutral to your house. The two "hot" legs are thus each at

120 volts with respect to ground/neutral, but because these two legs are at opposite ends of the winding they are 180 degrees out of phase and thus you get 240V between them (used to feed your range, dryer, large A/C unit, etc.)

The 120V outlets in your house are wired so that some are on one leg of the supply, some on the other. If you plug your intercom stations into receptacles which are on opposite sides of the transformer, the signal will be affected by the degree of coupling which exists between the two sides.

If that same transformer feeds other nearby homes, then you may be able to communicate between houses, but again the signal will be affected by which side of the transformer you are connected to. If you got a poor signal from house to house, you may have found that it would have improved if you'd plugged into a different outlet (on the other leg).

John Hines wrote: