Chicago Magazine Article on Motorola [telecom]

What Happened to Motorola

How a culture shift nearly doomed an iconic local company that once dominated the telecom industry.

By Ted C. Fishman

formatting link

- -- Paul W. Schleck snipped-for-privacy@novia.net

formatting link
Finger snipped-for-privacy@novia.net for PGP Public Key

Reply to
Paul W.Schleck
Loading thread data ...

I started working at Motorola in 1989 as an engineer developing digital hardware. I work for Freescale now, having spun out of Motorola in

2004. I work in sales and support. My official record has me down for 25 years of service.

For many years I worked in the Cellular Infrastructure Group (CIG) before I switched to what was then the Semiconductor Products Sector ("SPS"). I can say that the author of this article hit the big points that I believe led to Motorola's downfall but he missed a lot of big details.

The big problems the author hit were the failure to move from the "warring tribes" culture to a more collaborative one in the 90's and the lack of visionary leadership that could led the engineering centric culture to drive markets rather than follow them. Certainly not easy tasks and if I'd known how to do that I'd be a very wealthy man.

This article highlights one of my major frustrations from my time wearing a Motorola badge: Cellphones captured all the attention. While certainly a big part of Motorola's business, SPS and CIG contributed significant revenue to the company. Many other sectors were important as well, such as Motorola Computer Group, the Government Radio Group and a group that made routers and network equipment whose name I forget. There were many others as well.