T1 Timing on an OPTION 11

Hi all.

I need help finding out the setting on the OPTION11 to set and/or check the timing setting on a T1 link to an Avaya switch. I'm new to Nortel and telephone switches in general but have Cisco LAN/WAN experience.

The Avaya is reporting CSS (Controlled Slip Secs) errors on the link and I need to know how to verify the timing and how to set/change to correct the errors. At the moment the link is going down at lease 4 times a day.

Any help is appreciated. TIA.

-ajm

Reply to
aj.murphy
Loading thread data ...

In the Admin book, go to LD73 - you'll see - follow the link to the page with the "main menu" picture - you can get the manual you need plus more - plus free

Here ya go - hope the link works here in this format... http://161.58.174.191/micro_merl/

Yet another free service of GHTROUT

Reply to
GHT_WHO?

I don't know about the avaya switch. But the nortel only receives clocking form 1 source at a time. This is hardware dependent as well as software dependent. The first choice for any pbx is the public network. A pbx should only clock off another pbx if there is no public network to clock from. So first question, do both pbx's have a public network t1. If so and they are both in sync with the public network, the problem will most likely be a hardware or circuit issue. It gets even fuzzier if there are drop/inserts muxs on the link between the 2 pbx's, as their clocks have to taken into consideration also. You probably need to get a technician from each vendor to work this type of problem out. As well as knowing their own pbx, they will need to know the circuit design between the 2 pbx's. It's easy if you know what you are doing and it ain't if you don't.

Reply to
john doe