one wire sensors

I'd like to control ventilation and some other household functions with some kind of home automation. I'd like to be able to track temp and humidity in various parts of the house also. I have some knowledge of programming, electronics and making circuit boards for that matter (not that I want to make any circuit boards)!

Not knowing much about this, here is what I'm thinking and please feel free to tell me what is crap!

I've seen these one wire sensors. That would seem to me the way to go but I'm unsure how this interfaces with the automation. How does this work? Can this be interfaced with any of the STAMP modules that are available?

The way I picture this is that one wire sensors feed the STAMP (or other automation control) and that is interfaced to a home PC. Is that about right or are these things best done otherwise?

How is the programming handled? I've seen mention of Ada and C on the STAMP level.

Jeff

Reply to
Jeff
Loading thread data ...

I'd be wary of _depending_ on Dallas / Maxim 1-wire for new applications.

The Applications Engineer for the 1-Wire and iButton Groups wrote me : " It is correct that the DS2890 was recently assigned a NRFND status. Our customer base on this product is very small and ongoing R&D investment is large and prohibitive to convert the 6" wafer based design to an 8" wafer equivalent that is necessary to continue production in our wafer fabs. Our EOL strategy for this device is to build a supply of product that will provide a 5yr to 7yr supply to existing customers. "