newbie with ruleset needs help

My rule set generated by

formatting link
is below. I have ssh access to my Centos 5.2 server. How do I apply the rule set to my server? Do I save it as a file somewhere? Do I have to apply them on by one using iptables?

As you can see, I am an absolute newbie and it shut my server down the last week so I don't want to do it again.

Many thanks for your help!!

#!/bin/sh

# iptables script generated 2009-05-08 #

formatting link
IPT="/sbin/iptables"

# Flush old rules, old custom tables $IPT --flush $IPT --delete-chain

# Set default policies for all three default chains $IPT -P INPUT DROP $IPT -P FORWARD DROP $IPT -P OUTPUT ACCEPT

# Enable free use of loopback interfaces $IPT -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT $IPT -A OUTPUT -o lo -j ACCEPT

# All TCP sessions should begin with SYN $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp ! --syn -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j DROP

# Accept inbound TCP packets $IPT -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 21 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 22 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 25 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 80 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 110 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT $IPT -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 443 -m state --state NEW -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT

# Accept inbound UDP packets $IPT -A INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 53 -s 0.0.0.0/0 -j ACCEPT

Reply to
webdevguy
Loading thread data ...

[snip rules]

Hello,

You can save it as a normal file. In order to get it to run you would need to make the file executable. Assuming you saved the file as just 'iptables' (minus the quotes) :

(all as root, in the same directory you saved the file 'iptables' to)

chmod 750 iptables

You can then run the file like so :

./iptables